The Indian national congress foundation was led by the leaders Allan Octavian Hume, Dinshaw Edulji Wacha and Dadabhai Naoroji in 1885. The colloquial term for INC is Congress Party.

Starting as an organisation comprising only of the educated elite in India, it later became a party of commoners with prominent leaders like Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadar Tilak, Gandhi, Nehru, Bose, etc. as its members.

List of Indian National Congress Sessions (from 1885 to 1947)

Foundation Years 1885 – 1900

1st SessionBombayDec. 28-30, 1885Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
2nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 27-30, 1886Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
3rd SessionMadrasDec. 27-30, 1887Badruddin Tyabji
4th SessionAllahabadDec. 26-29, 1888George Yule
5th SessionBombayDec. 26-28, 1889Sir William Wedderburn
6th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-30, 1890Pherozeshah Mehta
7th SessionNagpurDec. 28-30, 1891P. Ananda Charlu
8th SessionAllahabadDec. 28-30, 1892Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
9th SessionLahoreDec. 27-30, 1893Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
10th SessionMadrasDec. 26-29, 1894Alfred Webb
11th SessionPuneDec. 27-30, 1895Surendranath Banerjee
12th SessionCalcuttaDec. 28-31, 1896Rahimatullah M. Sayani
13th SessionAmraotiDec. 27-29, 1897C. Sankaran Nair
14th SessionMadrasDec. 29-31, 1898Ananda Mohan Bose
15th SessionLucknowDec. 27-29, 1899Romesh Chunder Dutt
16th SessionLahoreDec. 27-29, 1900N.G. Chandavarkar

Pre-Independence Era 1900 – 1947

17th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-28, 1901Dinshaw Eduljee Wacha
18th SessionAhmedabadDec. 28-30, 1902Surendranath Banerjee
19th SessionMadrasDec. 28-30, 1903Lal Mohan Ghosh
20th SessionBombayDec. 26-28, 1904Sir Henry Cotton
21st SessionBanarasDec. 27-30, 1905Gopal Krishna Gokhale
22nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-29, 1906Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
23rd Session (Suspended)SuratDec. 26-27, 1907Rash Behari Ghosh
23rd SessionMadrasDec. 28-30, 1908Rash Behari Ghosh
24th SessionLahoreDec. 27-29, 1909Madan Mohan Malaviya
25th SessionAllahabadDec. 26-29, 1910Sir William Wedderburn
26th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-28, 1911Bishan Narayan Dhar
27th SessionBankiporeDec. 26-28, 1912Shri Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
28th SessionKarachiDec. 26-28, 1913Nawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur
29th SessionMadrasApr. 14-15, 1914Bhupendra Nath Bose
30th SessionBombayDec. 27-29, 1915Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
31st SessionLucknowDec. 26-30, 1916Ambica Charan Mazumdar
32nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-29, 1917Annie Besant
33rd SessionDelhiDec. 26-30, 1918Madan Mohan Malaviya
(Special Session)BombayAug. 29-01, 1918Romesh Chunder Dutt
34th SessionAmritsarDec. 26-30, 1919Motilal Nehru
Special SessionCalcuttaSeptember 1920Lala Lajpat Rai
35th SessionNagpurDec. 26-30, 1920C. Vijayaraghavachariar
36th SessionAhmedabadDec. 27-28, 1921Hakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das)
37th SessionGayaDec. 26-31, 1922Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
Special SessionDelhiSep. 04-08, 1923Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
39th SessionBelgaumDec. 26-27, 1924M.K. Gandhi
40th SessionKanpurApr. 15-17, 1925Mrs. Sarojini Naidu
41st SessionGawahatiDec. 26-28, 1926S. Srinivasa Iyengar
42nd SessionMadrasDec. 26-28, 1927M.A. Ansari
43rd SessionCalcuttaDec. 29-01, 1928Motilal Nehru
44th SessionLahoreApr. 16-18, 1929Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
45th SessionKarachiMar. 21-31, 1931Vallabbhai J. Patel
46th SessionDelhiApril 24, 1932Amrit Ranchhorddas Seth
47th SessionCalcuttaSep. 12-14, 1933Mrs. Nellie Sengupta
48th SessionBombayOct. 24-28, 1934Dr. Rajendra Prasad
49th SessionLucknowJun. 18-20, 1936Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
50th SessionFaizpurJul. 12-14, 1937Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
51st SessionHaripuraFeb. 19-21, 1938Subhash Chandra Bose
52nd SessionTripuraMar. 10-12, 1939Subhash Chandra Bose
(replaced by Rajendra Prasad)
53rd SessionRamgarhMar. 19-20, 1940Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
54th SessionMeerutNov. 23-24, 1946J.B. Kripalani

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments