• The OECD is an intergovernmental economic organisation, founded to stimulate economic progress and world trade. Most OECD members are high-income economies with a very high Human Development Index (HDI) and are regarded as developed countries.
  • Members of the OECD are democratic countries that support free markets.
  • It gives its member countries a place to share policy experiences, look for solutions to common challenges, discover and share best practices, and coordinate domestic and international policies.
  • The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is a think-tank or monitoring group that is an official Permanent Observer to the United Nations.
  • The OECD’s headquarters are located in Paris, France, in the Château de la Muette.
  • In 2017, the OECD member states accounted for 62.2 percent of global nominal GDP (US$49.6 trillion) and 42.8 percent of global GDP (International $ 54.2 trillion) at purchasing power parity.
Brief History
  • The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) was founded in 1948 as the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC).
  • The Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC) was established to oversee the Marshall Plan for postwar reconstruction on the continent, which was mostly sponsored by the United States.
  • The OEEC played a key role in the formation of the European Economic Community (EEC).
  • The European Economic Community (EEC) has grown into the European Union (EU) to build a European Free Trade Area.
  • When the United States and Canada joined in 1961, the OEEC was renamed the OECD to reflect a larger membership.


  • The OECD’s goals include promoting economic development and collaboration, as well as eliminating poverty through promoting economic stability.
  • It also ensures that the environmental consequences of economic and social development are always taken into account.
  • OECD has improved living conditions in several countries throughout the years.
  • It has also aided the expansion of international trade.


  • As of Jan 2023, there are 38 members
    • Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States are among the 38 member countries.
  • India is not a member of OECD.
    • Brazil, Russia is also not the Member of OECD.
  • Colombia and Costa Rica were the most recent countries to join the OECD in April 2020 and May 2021, respectively.
  • The Council voted on January 25, 2022, to start the first step in membership talks with six OECD candidate countries: Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Peru, and Romania.
  • Member countriesSubstantive Committees, the OECD Secretariat make up the OECD.
  • The Secretary-General leads the OECD Secretariat, which provides support to the Standing and Substantive Committees. It’s broken down into Directorates.
  • Along with EU member states, the European Commission participates in the OECD’s activity.

Functions and Responsibilities

  • The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is a key player in maintaining global economic stability. The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) publishes and updates a model tax convention that serves as a blueprint for assigning taxation rights between countries.
  • The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is in charge of providing economic studies, statistical databases, assessments, and projections on the global economic outlook.
  • The group studies the influence of social concerns on economic growth and gives recommendations to help the world’s economy grow. These suggestions also take into account the environmental challenges that come with economic expansion.
  • The group works to eradicate bribery and other financial crimes all across the world.
  • The OECD also keeps a “blacklist” of countries it considers to be uncooperative tax-havens.
  • Efforts were also made to eliminate tax evasion by profitable firms and in G-20 countries. It also encourages G-20 members to push for tax reform.


  • By fostering economic growth, free markets, and resource efficiency, the OECD assists countries, both OECD members and non-members, in reaping the benefits and confronting the challenges of a global economy.
  • The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publishes independent research and statistics to advocate policies that increase economic and social well-being around the world.
  • Reports and Indices by OECD
    • Government at a Glance 2017 report.
    • International Migration Outlook.
    • OECD Better Life Index.


  • OECD collaborates with governments, policymakers, and individuals to create evidence-based worldwide standards and discover solutions to a variety of social, economic, and environmental issues. They never fail to provide a unique forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments