The emperors of the Mughal Empire, who were all members of the Timurid dynasty (House of Babur), ruled over the empire from its inception in 1526 to its dissolution in 1857.

They were the supreme monarchs of the Mughal Empire in the Indian subcontinent, mainly corresponding to the modern countries of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

They ruled parts of India from 1526, and by 1707, ruled most of the subcontinent. Afterwards, they declined rapidly, but nominally ruled territories until the 1857 rebellion.

List of all Mughal Emperors (1526-1857)

Babur laid the foundation for the empire on April 20, 1526, by defeating Ibrahim Lodi in the Battle of Panipat. However, the empire began its decline during the reign of the sixth emperor, Aurangzeb. Ultimately, on September 21, 1857, the empire faced its demise due to the Revolt of 1857. The final ruler, Bahadur Shah II, marked the end of the Mughal Empire.

Greater Mughal Emperors Timeline
Babur1526 – 1530
Humayun1st Term: 1530 – 1540;
(Suri Dynasty: 1540 – 1555)
2nd Term: 1555 – 1556
Akbar1556 – 1605
Jahangir1605 – 1627
Shah Jahan1627 – 1658
Aurangzeb1658 – 1707
Mughal Emperors in India
Later Mughal Emperors Timeline
Bahadur Shah I1707 – 1712
Jahandar Shah1712 – 1713
Furrukhsiyar1713 – 1719
Rafi Ul-Darjat1719
Rafi Ud-Daulat1719
Muhammad Ibrahim1720
Muhammad Shah1719 – 1748
Ahmad Shah Bahadur1748 – 1754
Alamgir II1754 – 1759
Shah Jahan III1759 – 1760
Shah Alam II1760 – 1806
Akbar Shah II1806 – 1837
Bahadur Shah II1837 – 1857
Later Mughals

Reasons for decline of Later mughals

Mughals Decline
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments