• The line which demarcates two countries (areas of property) is known as the Boundary Line.
    • For example, the Line Of Control (LOC) is the boundary line between India (Kashmir) and Pakistan.
    • The Mason-Dixon Line is a boundary line between the 4 states of the United States of America.
  • International boundaries are the geographical borders of political or legal jurisdictions such as countries, customs territories, and sovereign states. The process of the creation of a border is called boundary delimitation. Some international borders such as those within a free movement area like the European Union are thinly guarded or completely open.
  • Others such as the India-Pakistan border or the North Korea-South Korea border may be heavily patrolled with access controlled through designated crossings.
Radcliffe Line

Important International Borders

Name of Lines/BoundariesBetweenFeatures/ Description
16th Parallel NorthNamibia & AngolaThe border line between Namibia & Angola.
17th ParallelSouth Vietnam and North VietnamThe 17th latitude from the equator divided erstwhile North and South Vietnam.
It was demarcated based on the 1954 Geneva Accords.
The 17th parallel became irrelevant after the unification of Vietnam in 1976.
20th ParallelLibya and SudanIt is located at the 20th northern latitude which is used as the border between Sudan and Libya.
22nd ParallelEgypt and SudanThe 22nd latitude north of the equator marks a major portion of the Sudan-Egypt border.
25th ParallelMauritania and MaliThe northernmost section of the Mali-Mauritania border is marked using this line.
31st ParallelIran and IraqThe 31st northern latitude marks the border between Iraq and Iran.
It also demarcates the border between the US states of Louisiana and Mississippi.
38th ParallelSouth Korea and North KoreaMilitary Demarcation Line.
The Military Demarcation Line (MDL), sometimes referred to as the Armistice Line.
The 38th parallel is used to demarcate the central part of the Demilitarized zone between North and South Korea.
49th ParallelUSA and CanadaIt is located 49 degrees north of the equator.
Demarcated after the Anglo-American Convention of 1818 and the Oregon Treaty of 1846, it forms the international border between the northern USA (Excluding Alaska) and Canada.
Durand LinePakistan and AfghanistanDelimited by Sir Mortimer Durand with the agreement of the erstwhile Amir of Afghanistan in 1893.
Present-day Afghanistan does not recognize the Durand line.
Hindenburg LinePoland and GermanyIt was a German Defensive line in French territory during World War I
It was rendered irrelevant by the treaty of Versailles in 1919.
McMahon LineChina and IndiaIt was drawn by Sir Henry McMahon in consultation with Tibetan representatives in 1914.
China disputes the legal status of this line but it is the de facto border between India and China.
Maginot LineGermany and FranceIt was a defensive line at the French border towards Germany before World War II. The Maginot line was rendered obsolete following the successful invasion of France by Germany following the outbreak of World War II
Mannerheim LineRussia and FinlandFinland built this as a defensive line against the Soviet Union for the Winter War during World War II.
Oder-Neisse LinePoland and GermanyIt runs along the rivers Oder and Lusatian Neisse rivers.
It demarcates the Polish-German border according to the Potsdam Conference. It was recognized by a unified Germany in 1990.
Radcliffe LineIndia and PakistanIt was demarcated by Sir Cyril Radcliffe for the Partition of India and the formation of East and West Pakistan.
It includes present-day India, Bangladesh, and Pakistan.
Siegfried LineFrance and GermanyIt was built as an extension of the Hindenburg defensive line on the western front of World War I by the Weimar Republic and later the Third Reich of Germany in the 1930s.
Blue LineLebanon and IsraelBorder demarcation between Lebanon and Israel was published by the United Nations on 7 June 2000 for the purposes of determining whether Israel had fully withdrawn from Lebanon.
GreenLine / Attila Line / UN Buffer ZoneThe Republic of Cyprus and Turkish CyprusA demilitarized zone, patrolled by the United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus (UNFICYP), that was established in 1964 and extended in 1974 after the ceasefire of 16 August 1974.
Purple LineIsrael and SyriaThe Purple Line was the ceasefire line between Israel and Syria after the 1967 War.
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mohsin Dewan

Thank you for the valuable information….