Schedules are basically tables which contains additional details not mentioned in the articles. There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935 where it included 10 Schedules.

Later, when the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 Schedules. The 9th schedule was added via First Amendment Act, while 10th Schedule was first added by 35th Amendment [Sikkim as Associate State]. Once Sikkim became a state of India, the 10 Schedule was repealed but later added once again by 52th Amendment Act, 1985 in context with the “Anti-defection” law.

Today, with the amendments in the Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.

List of Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedule Subject Matter
First ScheduleIt contains the name of States and Union Territories.
Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included
Second ScheduleThe provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:
President of India
Governors of Indian States
Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States
Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States
Supreme Court Judges
High Court Judges
Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)
Third ScheduleIt contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:
Union Ministers of India
Parliament Election Candidates
Members of Parliament (MPs)
Supreme Court Judges
Comptroller and Auditor General
State Ministers
State Legislature Elections’ Candidates
State Legislature Members
High Court Judges
Fourth ScheduleIt contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha.
Fifth ScheduleIt contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes.
Sixth ScheduleIt contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.
Seventh ScheduleThis schedule deals with the three legislative lists:
Union List – List I (100 subjects)
State List – List II
(61 subjects)
Concurrent List – List III
(52 subjects)
Eighth ScheduleIt deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution of India:
Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri (Dongri), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani
Mathili (Maithili), Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu
Ninth ScheduleIt deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and abolition of the zamindari system.
It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.

Note: 1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.
However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after
April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review
Tenth ScheduleIt contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.

Note: This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law
Eleventh ScheduleIt contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.

Note: This schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992.
Twelfth ScheduleIt deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.

Note: This schedule was added by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992.

Schedules of Indian Constitution & Articles

Schedules of Indian ConstitutionArticles of Indian Constitution
First ScheduleArticle 1 and Article 4
Second ScheduleArticles: 59(3), 65(3), 75(6), 97, 125, 148(3), 158(3), 164(5), 186 and 221
Third ScheduleArticles: 75(4), 99, 124(6), 148(2), 164(3), 188 and 219
Fourth ScheduleArticle: 4(1) and 80(2)
Fifth ScheduleArticle 244(1)
Sixth ScheduleArticle 244(2) and 275(1)
Seventh ScheduleArticle 246
Eighth ScheduleArticle 344(1) and 351
Ninth ScheduleArticle 31-B
Tenth ScheduleArticle 102(2) and 191(2)
Eleventh ScheduleArticle 243-G
Twelfth ScheduleArticle 243-W
Objectives of providing Schedule in the Indian Constitution
  • The objective of the schedule is to make the act’s provisions less complicated by separating the legal element from the additional information, making it more brief and easy to understand.
  • This division created by the timetable is also advantageous in the event of revisions. If there was no such separation, every time the additional information needed to be updated, an update to the article itself would be required, which is a time-consuming process.
  • The schedule is utilized not just in the Indian Constitution, but also in a variety of laws for diverse purposes. It is used to establish a list of states and union territories, as well as a list of other subject matters that fall under the jurisdiction of the state, the union, or both.
  • As a result, depending on the needs of the legislation, it can be utilized for a variety of reasons. Schedules can also be utilized when a certain section or article of legislation requires additional clarification or information not included in the main text.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Hello sir/mam, is the updated content for Polity only for revision, or is it sufficient for Prelims’ factual part?