The British established numerous committees and commissions in a variety of fields, including education, law enforcement, etc., throughout their time in power in India.

These significant commissions and committees were formed during the British Empire with the intention of ensuring reforms and modernising the sectoral operating structure.

The British Indian Committees and Commissions that were established for either judicial reform, administrative reform, or social reform are listed in this article.

Civil Services, Police and Army Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Aitchison Commission (1886)Charles AitchisonTo involve more Indians in Civil Service.Lord Dufferin
Fraser Commission (1902)FraserTo investigate the working of police.Lord Curzon
Royal Commission on Civil Service (1912)Lord IslingtonTo give 25% high posts to Indian.Lord Hardinge
Lee Commission (1924)Lord LeeTo remove defects of Civil Service.Lord Reading
Sandhurst Committee (1926)Andrew SkeenTo suggest Indianization of Indian army.Lord Reading
Indian Jail Reforms Committee (1919)Sir Alexander CardewTo improve the condition of prisonersLord Chelmsford
Butler Committee (1927)Hercourt ButlerTo Examine the relation between native states and the paramount
power (Crown).
Lord Irwin

Agriculture Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Madras Agricultural Committee (1890)To examine the necessity of abandoning the attempts to teach the ryot until more is known, through careful enquiry of what his practices really are, and the conditions under which he pursues them.
Lord Lansdowne
Irrigation Commission (1901)Sir Scott Crieff
To plan for the expenditure on Irrigation.
Lord Curzon
Linlithgow Commission (1928)LinlithgowTo study the problem in agriculture. (Report by Linlithgow).Lord Irwin

Finance and Currency Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Herschell Committee (1893)HerschellTo give suggestion Regarding currency.Lord Lansdowne
Opium Commission (1893)To investigate about the effect of opium on health.Lord Lansdowne
Flenry Fowler Commission (1898)H. FowlerTo give suggestions on currency.Lord Elgin
Maclagan Committee (1914-15)MaclaganTo advise for cooperative finances.Lord Hardinge

Labour Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Whitley Commission (1929)J.H. Whitley

To study the condition of labor in Industries and gardens.

Lord Irwin (1926-1931)
National Planning Committee (1938)Jawaharlal NehruTo prepare economic plan.Lord Linlithgow

Education Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Macaulay Minute (1835)Lord Macaulay

Allocate money for Educational expenditure

Lord William Bentinck
Woods Dispatch (1854)Charles woodsTo recommend the Medium of primary, secondary and graduation level education.Lord Dalhousie
Hunter Commission (1882)William HunterTo study the development in education.Lord Ripon
University Commission (1902)Thomas RaleighTo study the Universities and introduce reforms.Lord Curzon
Calcutta University Commission (1917)Michael SadlerTo study the condition of University.Lord Chelmsford
Indian Disbandment Committee (1923)Lord ItchcapTo discuss the Central Committee of Education.Lord Reading
Hartog Committee (1929)Sir Philip Joseph HartogTo address the decline in educational standards caused by the increased number of educational institutionsLord Irwin
Sargent Plan (1944)John SargentTo raise the standard of Education in British India.Lord Wavell

Famine Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
Strachey Commission (1880)Richard StracheyTo give relief to famine strickenLord Lytton
Lyall Commission (1897)James LyallTo give suggestion on earlier reports.Lord Elgin
MacDonnell Commission (1900)Anthony
To give the suggestion on famine report.Lord Curzon
Famine Inspection Commission (1943-44)John WoodhoodTo investigate in events of Bengal Famine.Lord Wavell

Law Commissions

Committee/CommissionChairmanObjectivesGovernor General/Viceroy
First Law Commission(1834)Lord MacaulayTo recommend the codification of the Penal Code, the Criminal Procedure Code and a few other matters.Lord William Bentinck
Second Law Commission (1853)Sir John RomillyTo recommend about Indian Code of Civil Procedure, the Indian Contract Act etc.Lord Dalhousie
Third Law Commission (1861)Sir John RomillyTo recommend about Indian Evidence Act, the Transfer of Property Act etc.Lord Canning
Fourth Law Commission (1879)Dr. Whitley StokesTo recommend about Code of Negotiable Instruments , Code on Trusts Law, Code on Transfer of Property and Easements, Code of Criminal Procedure and Civil Procedure.Lord Lytton

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments