• The State Emblem of India is the national emblem of the Republic of India and is used by the union government, many state governments, and other government agencies.
  • National Emblem of India is a representative seal of the Republic of India that is adapted from the Lion Capital of Ashoka Pillar (based in Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh.)
  • India adopted it as the State Emblem on 26th January 1950. The motto of the Indian National Emblem is ‘Satyamev Jayate’ or ‘Truth Alone Triumphs’ written in Devanagari script below the profile of the Lion Capital is part of the State Emblem of India.
    • The slogan ‘Satyameva Jayate’ comes from the Mundaka Upanishad, the final chapter of the sacred Hindu Vedas.
  • National Emblem is the symbol of authority and is present in all the official communications of the government.
  • In the original, there are four lions, mounted back to back, on a circular abacus, which itself rests on a bell-shaped lotus.
  • The frieze of the abacus has sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening Dharma Chakras.
  • The profile of the Lion Capital showing three lions mounted on the abacus with a Dharma Chakra in the centre, a bull on the right and a galloping horse on the left, and outlines of Dharma Chakras on the extreme right and left was adopted as the State Emblem of India on January 26, 1950.
  • The bell-shaped lotus was omitted.
  • The National Emblem of India can only be used in accordance with the provisions of the State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act-2005, and any unauthorized use is illegal.
National Emblem Of India

Facts about the National Emblem of India

  • Emperor Ashoka erected the Ashoka pillar, which has four lions seated back to back, symbolizing power, courage, confidence, and pride.
  • Horse, bull, elephant, and lion are among the other animals depicted on the pillar.
  • The elephant represents Buddha’s beginning (Buddha’s mother dreamed of a white elephant entering her womb at the moment of Buddha’s conception).
  • The bull represents Buddha’s zodiac sign, Taurus.
  • The horse is a representation of Buddha’s steed, which he rode when he left the fortress.
  • Enlightenment is symbolized by the lion.
  • Craftsmen from the same area crafted all of the Ashoka Pillars out of stone from Chunar and Mathura.
  • Each pillar, which stands 40 to 50 feet tall and weighs up to 50 tonnes, was dragged to the site where it was raised.
  • Only six of the pillars with animal capitals and nineteen of the pillars with inscriptions have survived.
  • The pillars’ carvings depicted proclamations about morality based on Buddhist ideas.
  • Below the National, Emblem has imprinted the words “Satyameva Jayate,” which means “Truth Alone Triumphs.”
  • The slogan ‘Satyameva Jayate’ comes from the Mundaka Upanishad, the final chapter of the sacred Hindu Vedas.
  • The President of India’s official seal, as well as the seals of the Central and State governments, is an indisputable element of the Government of India’s official letterhead.
  • The National Emblem appears on all Indian money and the Republic of India’s National Passport.
  • The fourth lion was omitted out of the two-dimensional rendition of the insignia on the initial copy of the Indian Constitution.
  • Officers of the Indian Police Service (IPS) wear the state symbol on their caps.
  • MPs can also use the state insignia on their letterheads and business cards.
  • If someone breaks the legislation regarding the use of the National Emblem, they can face a sentence of up to two years in prison or a fine of up to INR 2000.
  • Dinanath Bhargava is said to have gone to the Alipore Zoo in Kolkata to observe a lion before drawing it on paper.
  • The National Emblem can be seen at the public buildings listed below:
    • Rashtrapati Bhawan is the official residence of the President of India.
    • Buildings of Parliament House, Supreme Court, and Central Secretariat
    • Raj Niwas or Raj Bhawan
    • High Courts of the State Legislature
    • Buildings that house the Secretariats of States or Union Territories
    • Locations of India’s diplomatic missions across the world
    • Heads of Missions’ residences in the countries where they are accredited
    • At the front doors of buildings where India’s consulates are located.
Sarnath Capital
Sarnath Capital
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments